Heroes Season 3 Premiere

Quite literally jumping from my seat to write this post, Heroes Season three has an awesome start. Again, these two episodes are better than the entire second season.

So for a quick run through (Warning Spoilers) :

  • Peter shot Nathan
  • Alright, Future Peter shot Nathan
  • The future is a horrible nightmare where telling everyone about their abilities didn’t turn out so well. Thus Future Peter is trying to change that
  • Future Peter traps Present Day Peter is in the body of a prisoner named Jesse in the Company’s Level 5 Prison (Astral Projection Perhaps?)
  • Hiro gets a secret chemical formula from his father, who tells him not to touch it which he does.
  • Instantly, he loses it to a speedster, so to find out if it actually was so important, he goes to the future and finds it to be a Godzilla remake where Ando can shoot power blasts out of his hands. (Future Ando kills Future Hiro). They chase after the culprit.
  • Nathan survives, (thanks to Linderman?) and becomes a devout man.
  • Oh and Linderman’s back…but no one except Nathan can see him.
  • Mohinder gets Spider-Powers, thanks to discovering the true origin of these abilities (it’s the adrenaline) Then he discovers side effects like being horny and the shedding of his skin.
  • Claire is at home when she shouldn’t be thanks to Future Peter, and is attacked by Sylar.
  • Sylar not only gets her power but goes after the criminals in Level 5
  • Matt figures out that Peter is not Peter, so Peter sends him to Africa where he meets an African guy who can paint the future.
  • Mrs. Angela Petrelli tells Future Peter how much he screwed up.
  • Tracy Strauss, who looks a lot (by a lot I mean exactly) like the deceased (?) Niki Sanders, hires Nathan to be the new Junior Senator of New York.
  • Bob is killed by Sylar, who invades Level 5 attacks Elle, who retaliates by electrocuting everything in the vacinity.
  • Sylar is captured, several dangerous villains escape, Elle is fired, and Angela takes over the Company
  • Noah Bennett goes after said villains, and leaves the scarred Claire in the hands of Meredith, who responds by lighting a giant fire.
  • Oh and Angela is Sylar’s mom.

Impressions (Also Spoilers)

This season has started off with nothing but promise. The writers have once again found a way to forcefully separate some of the characters. I enjoyed how they did it this season than last. In Season 2 they used the Time Skip to show how some characters were drawn apart or together; however the way they’ve done it this season seems more natural or coherent. They don’t thrust the fact that they’re apart again at us with no explanation, instead using the plot to put them in trouble again. Also several new characters have been introduced while giving them a purpose within the known story. This in comparison to last season where Maya and a couple others were introduce with little relation to the overall story. One issue that I am having with these episodes is how no one notices Matt is gone. He’s been away for at least a few days within the time line of the show and no one has even mentioned his existence. It’s almost as if as soon as they don’t need him, they dump him off and never bothered to ask where he went. Finally I’m not entirely sure that I like the whole, Angela is Sylar’s mom story. While it definitely left me in suspense, it would have been better if it had been foreshadowed earlier on in the story. Here it just looks like they pulled it out for drama’s sake.

Regardless, the first two episodes definitely left me looking forward to next week, where I hope we get a better look at the Godzilla future, and maybe a little more into Future Peter’s future (Oh God that’s a mouthful). They were both pretty vague about what happens except horrible things. Also, I’m wondering based on the fact that Hiro has been a jerk to Ando in these two episodes, that if Hiro was the villian and Ando was actually trying to help save everyone. Damn, I can’t wait for next week.

Posted on September 23, 2008, in Television and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. (Spoilery Content NaNoDa)

    I’m hoping I like this season. The second was all right but I continually had the feeling that I could have just dropped it and gotten the short summary: Sylar fucked more people up, Mohinder is rendered completely uselesss now that Claire’s blood is a more effective healer than his (and thus Antibodies Man falls…), Matt always loses and Nathan got shot. Hell, I could just shorten that to: Sylar fucked more people up and shit happened but turns out fine in the end. Urgh, if Hiro’s going to be such an ass to Ando like this all season though I see no hope of loving this. I loved their buddy-buddy relationship. *sigh*

    Also, do they not mention Molly at all? While Mohinder’s boning Maya is the poor girl trying to make lasagna wondering where Daddy Matt is and why Mommy Mohinder is screwing around with another woman? God damn it.

    But YES! Nathan is going goddamn insane. I love it. I mean, okay, *maybe* Linderman is a ghost no one but he can see, but let’s face it, batshit on the surface is still batshit. I like this direction for Nathan, since I think from the beginning he’s been the character that they abuse the most mentally. It’s like he’s the guy they can bend and break as many times as they feel like just because he’s the drama goat. Claire and her “if I can’t feel pain I’m not alive” depressing schlock, Sylar’s forced evolution/natural selection delusion, Matt’s daddy issues, that ain’t nothing compared to the shit that Nate has had to suffer. I’d say Nikki/Jess/Tracy is also a good contender for “Character Who’s Been the Most Raped By Fate” but because her whole power set depends on these multiple personas I figure it’s less a series of unfortunate events as just one big unfortunate event. That is, her birth.

    There’s really only one thing I hope will happen by the end of this or the fourth season or at the end: Claire and Peter die.

    I am sticking by this. There is no way in hell I will be happy with any ending for this series unless they are dead or rendered powerless. I am serious.

    I like Claire as a character, she’s spunky and strong and because HRG is my favorite hero I have to tolerate her by default. There are just two major flaws I can’t stand. One is just a little part of her character. The problem is she’s such a downer. I mean, this episode? I lost a lot of respect for her. “How can I fight when the only lame-ass power I have is oh, umm, INVINCIBILITY?”

    …This chick is either just really depressed or the most fucking stupid person I have ever seen.

    Seriously girl, your dad has *no* powers whatsoever (and if they *do* give him powers I will cry) and he kicks serious ass on a regular basis. She should know by now that if she wants to defend herself against psychopaths, all that’s needed is quick thinking and a gun. Of course it ummm, it helps that she’s now completely resistant to pain and… oh yeah, unkillable. How is this NOT an awesome enhancement? And why ask Peter, of all people? His powers aren’t even the same. x__x The sheer weirdness of that is just ugh. Jesus Claire, just be glad you’re not that worthless cousin of Micah whose name I forgot.

    In addition, her very existence means that people within a couple miles of her need not fear death. Hell, for all *we* know her blood can reanimate corpses!

    Actually, that would be a pretty awesome storyline. Heroes Zombies! :DD

    As for Peter, he’s what we roleplayers call a god-moder. He has an assload powers, he has complete mastery over them, he’s a pretty boy that no one will want to hit. The deck is stacked too much in his favor. Besides, his emo future self will never go the fuck away unless he loses that power or he dies.

    Minor Hopes:
    – Someone FINALLY puts on a costume. I don’t care if they’re a joke, or they’re evil, or they’re incompetent. I want a spendex-suited moron.
    – Meredith finally gets a fleshing out.
    – We get to see more of the African man.
    – Matt gets the recognition he deserves.
    – The Haitian becomes the greatest threat ever. To whom I don’t really care, but he’s so underplayed it’s kind of sad. /: He’s got to be one of the most dangerous to everybody, since his power negation is by far the most useful power to have in this genetic muck-a-muck.
    – More superheroes with accents.
    – Sylar professes his love for Mohinder.

    Finally, is anyone even slightly threatened by these villains? HRG, Claire and probably Elle and Sylar are on their tail. And Peter’s a spy inside them. I feel less than threatened by them if the best they think they can do is torturing two gas attendants when Sylar all by himself can nuke the holy hell out of them.

    P.S.

    I’m sorry, but I completely love the comic references thrown in with Hiro, and especially between Hiro and Daphne. Seriously, did I hear a motherfucking NEMESIS REFERENCE?! HELL YEAH!

Leave a Reply

